The simple life, an observation

simple |ˈsimpəl|
adjective ( -pler , -plest )
1 easily understood or done; presenting no difficulty : a simple solution | camcorders are now so simple to operate.
• plain, basic, or uncomplicated in form, nature, or design; without much decoration or ornamentation : a simple white blouse | the house is furnished in a simple country style.
• [ attrib. ] used to emphasize the fundamental and straightforward nature of something : the simple truth.
2 composed of a single element; not compound.
• Mathematics denoting a group that has no proper normal subgroup.
• Botany (of a leaf or stem) not divided or branched.
• (of a lens, microscope, etc.) consisting of a single lens or component.
• (in English grammar) denoting a tense formed without an auxiliary, e.g., sang as opposed to was singing.
• (of interest) payable on the sum loaned only. Compare with compound 1 .
3 of or characteristic of low rank or status; humble and unpretentious : a simple Buddhist monk.
A cup of black coffee, a park bench, a country road, a cherry blossom.  Some things evoke an image of uncomplicated and enjoyable simplicity they can only be described as a thing of beauty.  With a world becoming more and more complex, from war, dependance on technology, famine, disease, poverty, religion, and injustice it can be a wonderful thing to take a step back, take a long thoughtful deep breath, and enjoy the simpler things in life.
Life can be complicated.  Stress over money, family and relationship issues, and the need to please everyone can be mind boggling to some, and just down right overwhelming to others.  Its time we all take a few steps back, relax, and enjoy what life has to offer us.  Life happens around us one day at a time.  We cannot see into the future, and frankly, I would rather not know, then have it ruin the life that I am having today.  Dealing with that stress all comes down to a few things…  All of which can be simple.
‘Carpe Diem’ – “used to urge someone to make the most of the present time and give little thought to the future.”  Seize the day…  Life is to short… A simple life is what I crave.  But those simple cravings can make the this much less simpler.  I hear people saying that they want a simpler life, but in the motions to create that simpler life, go to such extents that everything becomes so complicated and difficult.  The best way to truly be simple in life is to be thankful for what you have, and who you are.  When we stop trying to be up the newest fashions, in all aspects of life, we can take a look of what our life is, and find what makes us happy.
As I write this I am sitting outside a very quant independent neighborhood coffee shop (notice I didn’t use the work cafe) on a basic wicker chair, sipping a cup of uncomplicated black coffee, enjoying the early spring breeze.  I also rode my bike here, but more on that later.  I’m not worried about the world around me.  I am not thinking of how I am going to pay the bills, what laundry needs to be done, and most importantly, tomorrow.  What I am thinking about is the nice evening I will have with Aimee, maybe stopping buy a friends shop to say hi, and enjoying the spring evening with my dog.  What I have done here is make things slow down a little.
No need to rush home just to go to bed, and start all over again.  No need to rush around town, honking my horn because the person at the stop light in front of me waited 30 seconds to go after it turned green.  No need to make this go by any faster.  Its moments like these I am thankful.  Just thankful.  At peace with the life I have made, and peace with the decisions I made. No need to fret over the should’ve and could’ve.  No need to worry.  Life is good.  And its the simpler things that make it good.  I have become simple.  From the food I cook, my mode of transportation, the way I think about everything, from politics, religion, love and life.
One Response to “The simple life, an observation”

  1. I apologize for the bad formatting. WordPress doesn’t like me today

Leave a Reply

