100 things

In thinking about downsizing many things in my life lately, and after a few conversations with a few people, and one old family friend I recently connected with on facebook after at least 14 years, I have been contemplating the 100 things challenge. To limit myself to 100 possessions. I know that this point in my life this is not feasible. I will begin the downsizing effort, and have already sorta began in selling off some bicycle equipment I no longer need, and donating three large bags of clothes. But as a start of the thought process I thought it would be interesting to see what my 100 things list would be like at this point. Would be interesting to see how my priorities change over time. I will list 10 things at a time, as they come to me. Some items will be “grouped” and I will explain the reasoning behind said grouping. Also, a few links here and there as inspiration.

Inspiration link of the day.  The blog that got us all thinking

To get things rolling: 1 – 10

1.) 4 Cup Coffee Press and a small grinder. Grouped because one is useless without the other. And, as this is my list, I can make the rules, lol.

2.) Macbook

3.) Surly Cross Check. This will also be grouped with 5 20oz water bottles, tool roll, and a handful of essential tools needed for basic maintenance. these items grouped together as they can be carried and stored on the bike at all times. Also grouped will be helmet and cycling shoes.

4.) Small toolbox, inside the essential tools, lubes and greases, bolts, and small spare parts needed to maintain my bike. I do most if not all of my repairs, but will take to the local bike shop if a tool needed is not in this box. A lot of thought will go into this.

5.) iPod touch, grouped with soft case and earbuds.

6.) SMall toiletry bag, inside body wash, wash cloth, toothbrush, toothpaste, mug soap in baggie, camel hair shaving brush, straight razor, deodorant. Body wash can be used as shampoo as I shave my head close most of the time.

7.) Low Top day hikers/walking shoes, Vasque brand

8.) Rafters Sandals

9.) Medium backpack with laptop sleeve

10.) One set spare tires. Pair counts as one item.

I will add that I will not put anything on this list I do not currently own. The point of this exercise is not to obtain any more, but to rid my self of the excess. Some items, like to toolbox will need to be gathered from items I already own, that are not currently together, but I already have in my possession.

I may “theme” these ten item posts. Like clothing, kitchen items, ect… for the purpose of future reference.

2 Responses to “100 things”

  1. Interesting project! I’d have to say #1 is the clear winner for me. All things are based on a good cup of coffee. Macbook would be a close second.

  2. Yeah, thats why it is #1 on the list. Without coffee, the rest is useless, lol

Leave a Reply

